|  

Reading and Writing Disorders

2. Service


Learning to read and write is a very important skill in academic years. Some students have significant difficulty in learning to reading and/or write. These problems not only affect their academic achievement, but also lead to negative emotions towards learning. Some students may even fear schools.

ENT Laser – A Decade of Excellence

  • Our speech therapists have years of experience in providing service and training to mainstream primary and secondary schools. We can design and provide appropriate training in listening, speech, reading and composing to different grades of students. The training will tie in with the Chinese program in school, so as to assist the students to handle their academic learning.
  • In 2008 summer, in cooperation with our consultant Dr. Richard Wong (Assistant Professor, Hong Kong Institute of Education), our centre organized a training program “we can learn to read” (《我都讀得到》認讀訓練課程), which targeted on reading and comprehension skills. Twenty students studying in mainstream primary schools participated in this program. During the program, all participants enjoyed the activities and showed positive feedback to the training. After the program, most participants showed significant improvement in reading and comprehension tasks. This program has been held in mainstream primary school as well.
  • In 2009, a reading training package “we can learn to read” (《我都讀得到》閱讀障礙訓練課程及教材套) has been published. This package provides a comprehensive training program and exercises on reading comprehension to therapists, teachers and parents for junior primary students.

 Introduction

Developmental Dyslexia consists of two types of difficulties: dyslexia and dysgraphia.

Developmental dyslexia

  • It is the most common specific learning difficulty (SpLD) among students, making up above 80% of that population. Around 9.7% to 12.6% Hong Kong primary students are found to show various degree of reading difficulties (Chen, et al., 2007). Reading difficulty is a congenital impairment resulted from abnormality of brain functioning in learning to read.

Developmental dysgraphia

  • Most people with dyslexia also show difficulty in writing and composition. However, some people have adequate reading skills but have specific difficulty in learning to write. 

Developmental dyslexia

Signs and symptoms:
  • At least average intelligence
  • Within normal range of visual ability (after correction)
  • Within normal range of auditory ability (after correction)
  • Adequate opportunity to learn to read
  • Have difficulty in learning to read and spell/ write
    • Reading difficulty includes: difficulty in recognition of written words, difficulty in comprehending written sentence, questions and passage, slow reading speed, etc.
    • Writing difficulty includes: slow writing and copying, frequent copying and writing errors, omission of characters in copying, bad script, uneven spacing among characters, frequent grammatical errors and poor organization in composition, etc. Some of them also have poor fine motor control, poor grip in writing and coordination problems. Some may show visual and spatial perception problems. 
Learning to read is developed as a continuum from learning to speak. Therefore, children with oral language impairment are likely to have difficulty in learning to read and compose.

Marginal SpLD

  • When a student scores below average in parts of a standardized reading and writing test (e.g. HKT-SpLD), including reading and writing subtests, but his/her scores in other subtests of related cognitive skills are within normal limits, he/she may be classified by the psychologist as marginal SpLD. 

 Assessment

Registered speech therapist (ST) will carry out a comprehensive language assessment with students suspected to have reading difficulty. It includes a standardized character recognition test (for primary students in Hong Kong), assessment on reading comprehension of words, sentences, paragraphs and passages, and oral language assessments (comprehension and expression).
 

 Treatment

Reading training consisting of:
  • Base on theory in learning to read, Chinese characters are introduced to the students according to difficulty of recognition and learning to read. It aims to assist the students to acquire and consolidate the skills needed for reading Chinese characters.
  • Interest in learning to read is enhanced through interesting and age-appropriate activities.
  • Via the use of progressively difficult level of materials, enhance the skills of reading and comprehension of sentence, paragraphs and passages. Usage of learnt characters/words and reading automaticity is enhanced.
  • Fundamental skills for learning to read Chinese will be targeted base on individual needs of the students, e.g. morphological and radical awareness.
  • Oral language training (comprehension and expression) is provided according to individual needs. 
Writing training consisting of:
  • Multisensory approach and activities are employed to strengthen students’ awareness to character structures (radicals and logographemes). Composition and organization skills are trained via oral language training.
MoreClient's Sharing
“ I would like to thank my therapist for her patient teaching. My son has made a giant leap in progress.

|  

讀寫障礙

2. 我們如何幫助你?

文字學習是一項學生重要的課題。但有部分學童對認讀及書寫文字出現明顯的困難,除會嚴重影響各個科目的學習及成績,日漸繁重的課程、功課、默書及考試,更令他們越來越討厭、甚或恐懼學習。
 

言聽十年: 

  • 本中心的言語治療師於主流小學及中學的多年訓練經驗,能為各級的學童設計及進行合適的「聽、說、讀、寫」訓練,以提升學童語言及文字學習的技巧及興趣。訓練並能配合學校中文科學習的課程,以協助學童應付日常的學習需要。
  • 於2008年暑假,本中心與中心顧問黃國成博士 (Dr. Richard Wong) (香港教育學院副教授) 合作,舉行了《我都讀得到》認讀訓練課程,為20名就讀主流小學的學生,進行認讀及文字學習的訓練。課程中參加者的反應良好,各學員於課程後的評估中,表現亦比訓練前有顯著進步。有關訓練課程亦曾於本港主流小學中舉行。
  • 本中心於2009年出版了《我都讀得到》閱讀障礙訓練課程及教材套,為本港治療師、老師及家長提供一套全面並配香港初小學生需要的訓練教材。

 讀寫障礙簡介

讀寫障礙分為兩部分,分別為閱讀障礙及書寫障礙。

閱讀障礙
  • 為最常見的一種特殊學習障礙,佔其中八成以上。根據本港大學於2005年的研究,約9.7% 至12.6%的適齡學童有不同程度的閱讀障礙 (Chen, et al., 2007)。閱讀障礙是由與生俱來的腦部出現異常狀態所引致。
書寫障礙
  • 大部分閱讀障礙人士亦同時出現書寫障礙,另有部分學童認讀能力正常但書寫出現困難。

讀寫障礙的特徵:

  • 智力正常
  • 視力正常
  • 聽力正常
  • 閱讀經驗和同齡學童相若
  • 但讀寫能力明顯較同齡學童差
    • 閱讀困難可包括:辨別個別文字能力較弱、理解句子、文章及題目出現困難、閱讀速度較慢等
    • 書寫困難可包括:抄寫速度慢、抄寫錯誤 (如部首左右調轉、加多或抄漏筆劃)、抄漏字、部分學童背默會較讀默好、字體差、字與字之間的分佈不平均等,編寫文句時文法錯誤,段落組織欠順。部分學童手肌控制、執筆姿勢及身體協調出現困難,視覺及空間感知弱。
另外,因學習文字(書寫語言)是口語學習的延續,如學童的口語語言能力弱,學習文字的理解及書寫亦會有一定的困難。讀寫障礙人士可能同時出現其他困難,包括專注力不足、視覺感知及手眼協調問題、動作協調困難等。


「邊緣讀寫障礙」

  • 香港註冊心理學家為懷疑有閱讀障礙的學童進行評估時,如在測驗結果中某部份能力測驗的得分「不是太低」,但在其他能力測驗 (包括認讀、書寫項目) 的得分又低於標準時,學童便可能被評定為「邊緣讀寫障礙」。

 評估

認可的言語治療師能為學童進行全面的語言能力評估。認讀能力的評估包括:認讀及理解字詞、句子、段落及篇章的能力,及為小學一至六年級學童進行標準化的「中文讀字測試」;同時治療師會評估學童的口語語言理解及表達能力、及語言組織能力。
 

 訓練課程及形式

認讀訓練
  • 言語治療師會按有關閱讀困難的理論、讀音掌握的難度,有系統地挑選及介紹不同的文字,協助學童建立和鞏固學習文字所須的技巧
  • 透過有趣遊戲及比賽提升學童對文字學習的興趣
  • 由淺入深,訓練學童對句子、段落、篇章及問題的閱讀及理解能力,並加強學童的文字運用能力及閱讀的自動化
  • 提高學童學習中文有關的基礎能力,例如:語素意識 (即語義單位的覺識能力,如:語音與文字的相應、分辨同音異字、語素組合、推測詞語意思)、字形結構意識 (即文字符號單位及組合的覺識能力,如:部件、部首覺識) 等;
  • 治療師亦會按學童需要提供合適的語言訓練,加強學童口語的語言理解及表達能力
 
書寫訓練
  • 言語治療師運用多感官學習法及遊戲,協助學童認識及鞏固中文字的部件及結構。並通過口語語言訓練,加強學童句子及篇章的組織能力。
 
更多顧客心聲
“ 多謝治療師耐心同有恆心教導…,令他由初初到現在有很大進步。