|  

Neurological Communication Disorder

2. Service


Neurological Communication Disorder is a collective term for acquired neurological language disorders which affects language comprehension and production resulted from brain damages by stroke, encephalitis, traumatic brain injury and brain tumor, etc. Neurological Communication Disorder includes Aphasia, Apraxia and Dysarthria.

ENT Laser – A Decade of Excellence

  • Since 2003, experienced Speech Therapists of ENT Laser have brought intensive clinic and outreach services to clients in need of communication rehabilitation.
  • Besides from in-patient speech therapy services, our Speech Therapist extended our services to public and private hospitals, elderly homes, and households for the past ten years.
  • Speech Therapists from our centre volunteered in regular communication rehabilitation groups of Neuro United (a non-government self-help organization), providing rehabilitation training to patients who suffered from stroke or dementia.

 Introduction

  • Aphasic patients might have difficulties in comprehension and expression, speech organization, reading and writing, etc. Symptoms include:
    • Word-finding difficulties: Aphasic patients might not able to find the right word to say. They might circulate around the topic but is unable to tell the exact wordings. Some patients might simply tell you, "I can't remember the word." or "I don't know how to say that."
    • Circumlocution: Some Aphasic patients might be able to speak fluently but you may find that the content lacks coherence or the patient is telling something unrelated. Some patients might have grammatical errors in their speech.
    • Slurred speech: Due to deficient facial and oromusculature, Aphasic patients might have articulation errors. For example, slurred speech, voice too soft like murmuring, speech rate too fast or too slow, hoarse voice.
    • Reading and Writing Difficulties: Aphasic patients' reading and writing ability might be impaired. They might forget how to read and write simple and common words.
  • Apraxia is one kind of motor speech disorder. Apraxic patients have difficulties in motor planning and programming of the speech articulators. Symptoms include: inconsistent articulatory errors, groping oral movements to locate the correct articulatory positions, and increasing errors with increasing word and phrase length.
  • Dysarthria is also one kind of motor speech disorder. Due to weakness/paresis and/or paralysis of the musculature of the oral mechanism, resonance, phonation, respiration, articulation and prosody of the patients could be affected.

 Assessment

Speech Therapist will assess and make accurate diagnosis in the following areas:
  • Language comprehension and production (including word, sentence and passage comprehension, naming, word-finding ability, repetition, speech organization, and reading and writing abilities).
  • Articulation(including assessing the strength, coordination, rate, and range of movement of the muscles of jaw, lips, tongue, palate).
  • Motor speech planning and programming.

 Treatment

Individual therapy will be tailor-made for patients. Speech Therapist will set treatment goals according to the patient’s daily communication needs. Training goals can include strengthening word-retrieval, enhancing speech organization, increasing strength and control over articulator muscles, improving articulation, voice and breathing exercises, etc.
 
More Client's Sharing
“ My therapist is professional, tender, patient and experienced, teach her in gradual steps and often encourage her.

|  

神經性溝通障礙

2. 我們如何幫助你?

神經性溝通障礙泛指由中風、腦炎、腦腫瘤或受創引致的的溝通障礙。最想見的神經性溝通障礙包括失語症(Aphasia), 失用症(apraxia)及 神經性構音障礙(Dysarthria)。
 

言聽十年

  • 自2003年起,由具臨床經驗的言語治療師,把一向集中由公立醫院提供給中風、腦退化症、腦部受創等患者的溝障復康訓練,帶進本中心,為有需要人士帶來密集式或到診復康訓練的選擇。
  • 在過往的十年間,本中心的言語治療師除了提供門診形式的神經性溝通復康訓練外,亦不時外展到全港各公、私營醫院、老人院及患者住所,以配合患者需要,有效把握復康的黃金期。
  • 本中心的言語治療師曾義務協助本港的非牟利自助組織「腦同盟」,為中風康復者及腦退化症患者,定期舉行溝通復康小組。

 神經性溝通障礙簡介

  • 失語症(Aphasia)患者可能在理解說話能力及文字、表達物件名稱、話語組織能力、閱讀及書寫等溝通能力上出現困難。表徵包括:
  • 找字困: 患者經常在表達時未能說出合適字眼,或不停在「兜圈子」亦未能說出字詞。 有些患者更會在屢次嘗試後直接道出:「我不記得那個字。」或「我不知道怎樣說。」
  • 詞不達: 有些患者的說話好像很流暢,但仔細聆聽時會發覺患者說的話欠缺主題,或內容紊亂, 未能清晰地表達所想,甚至有文法上的錯誤。
  • 含糊其: 基於面部及口腔肌肉的控制能力較弱,患者可能出現構音/ 發音困難。例如未能清楚說出字詞的發音、聲線太弱、說話含糊猶如喃喃自語、說話的速度太快或太慢、又或是聲線變得很沙啞。
  • 執筆忘:患者的書寫能力可能同樣受到影響,會經常忘記一些常見字的寫法。
  • 失用症(Apraxia)是其中一種運動性言語障礙。患者未能有效地規劃及協調肌肉動作來說話。表徵包括: 不規則發音錯誤、說話時口部有明顯的摸索發音位置動作、句子愈長錯誤愈多。
  • 神經性構音障礙(Dysarthria)亦是其中一種運動性言語障礙。患者由於負責說話機制的肌肉變弱或癱瘓而導致構音困難,影響共鳴、發聲、呼吸、咬字發音及抑揚頓挫。

 評估

言語治療師 會為患者就以下範疇作詳細評估及作出診斷:
  • 語言理解及表達 (包括:字詞理解、句子及篇章理解,物件命名,找字能力, 重複字詞能力,語言組織能力及讀寫能力)
  • 構音(包括: 評估唇、舌、顎的力度、協調能力及活動速度和範圍)
  • 口部肌肉的規劃及協調能力

 訓練形式

訓練為一對一治療, 言語治療師 會以功能為本的目標,為神經性溝通障礙患者設計及提供相對的訓練,從而配合患者日常溝通的需要。訓練目標可包括: 強化找字能力、提升說話組織能力、增強口部肌肉的力度及協調能力、構音訓練、發聲及呼吸訓練等。

更多顧客心聲
“ 看見他的進展真的令人振奮。他現在的生活質素變得更好。多謝治療師所提供的治療與鼓勵!